Isabella Rossellini

Isabella Rossellini

“I became an actress way into my 30s because I thought that I had to find my own way, and that’s why I worked so much in modeling, until I realized that the differences between acting and modeling weren’t that great. I always say that modeling is a little bit like being a silent actress. I still think that what is important is not to look pretty but to express emotions. And I do believe, quoting Diana Vreeland, the great guru of fashion, that there is no beauty without emotion. So once I realized that my job as a model was to emote in front of the camera, I thought, well now I just have to add words and I can do films. But also my success as a model made me more confident about becoming an actress because just in case I failed I thought well, you know, if I failed as an actress, I can do another job. When I was young it was difficult to imagine entering a world where my parents succeeded so much and I could have risked failing. It would have felt much harder.”

I think..

