CHARLIE CHAPLIN

“I was [on a film set and] hurriedly told to put on a funny make-up. This time I went to the wardrobe and got a pair of baggy pants, a tight coat, a small derby hat and a large pair of shoes. I wanted the clothes to be a mass of contradictions, knowing pictorially the figure would be vividly outlined on the screen. To add a comic touch, I wore a small mustache which would not hide my expression… The clothes seemed to imbue me with the spirit of the character. He actually became a man with a soul – a point of view. I defined to [a producer] the type of person he was. He wears an air of romantic hunger, forever seeking death, but his feet won’t let him.”

describing how The Little Tramp was born.

I think..

