DAVID CRONENBERG

I don’t think they are making [Superhero movies] an elevated art form. I think it’s still Batman running around in a stupid cape. Christopher Nolan’s best movie is MEMENTO and that is an interesting movie. I don’t think his Batman movies are half as interesting though they’re 20 million times the expense. What he is doing is some very interesting technical stuff… That’s really tricky and difficult to do. I read about it in “American Cinematography Magazine,” and technically, that’s all very interesting. The movies, to me, they’re mostly boring.

But a superhero movie, by definition, you know, it’s comic book. It’s for kids. It’s adolescent in its core. That has always been its appeal, and I think people who are saying, you know, THE DARK KNIGHT RISES is supreme cinema art, I don’t think they know what the fuck they’re talking about.

(excerpted from an interview conducted by Next Movie)

I think..

