Federico Fellini

“I don’t like the idea of ‘understanding’ a film. I don’t believe that rational understanding is an essential element in the reception of any work of art. Either a film has something to say to you or it hasn’t. If you are moved by it, you don’t need it explained to you. If not, no explanation can make you moved by it.”

fellini02

With Giulietta I am more nervous, more demanding than with others. I want her to do well right away. I am willing to tolerate the mistakes of everyone but those of Giulietta upset me. I am deeply unfair in this. The fact is that Giulietta lives inside of me long before the other actors: it’s as if I feel she is not allowed to make mistakes. Sometimes I would like to tell her: you were born in this story before everyone else and you still don’t feel perfectly integrated with the image we are composing? Giulietta is like my hand. It would be funny that my hand, if I ordered it to get something, went elsewhere.