Dogville

dogville1

dogville2

Quentin Tarantino named the film as one of his top 20 films that have been made since he has been directing. He also said that, had this movie been written for the stage, von Trier would have won a Pulitzer prize.

According to von Trier, the point of the film is that "evil can arise anywhere, as long as the situation is right."

lars01

Lars von Trier and Nicole Kidman on the set of Dogville.

‘Dogville’ had one of the most satisfying endings in a movie ever.

dogville2

Jean-Paul Belmondo

Jean-Paul Belmondo

Jean-Paul Belmondo in Breathless (1960, dir. Jean-Luc Godard)

“When I accepted the role, [Godard] gave me the script. Three little pages on which he’d written:

He leaves Marseilles.

He steals a car.

He wants to sleep with the girl again. She doesn’t.

In the end, he either lives or dies – to be decided.

That was it. So every morning, I learned about Poiccard’s further adventures. I had no idea what would happen to me that day. I found out each morning.”