“Estuans interius” from Part II, In Taberna from Carmina Burana—Carl Orff (2:18)

this baritone solo is one of the reasons why to love this

Burning inside
with violent anger
I speak to my heart
created from matter,
of the ashes of the elements,
I am like a leaf
played with by the winds.

If it is the way
of the wise man
to build
foundations on a stone,
then I am a fool, like
a flowing stream,
which in its course
never changes.

I am carried along
like a ship without a steersman,
and in the paths of the air
a light, hovering bird;
chains cannot hold me,
keys cannot imprison me,
I look for people like me
and join the wretches.

The heaviness of my heart
seems a burden to me;
it is pleasant to joke
and sweeter than honeycomb;
whatever Venus commands
is a sweet duty,
she never dwells
in a lazy heart.

C Phrygian dominant scale, the fifth mode of F harmonic minor


In music, the altered Phrygian scale or Freygish scale (also spelled Fraigish[1]), featuring an unusual key signature and a distinctive augmented second interval, is the fifth mode of the harmonic minor scale, the fifth being the dominant.[2] Also called the Phrygian dominant scale, harmonic minor perfect fifth below, dominant flat 2 flat 6 (in jazz), or simply the fifth mode of the harmonic minor scale, it may constructed by raising the third of the Phrygian mode. Used in Jewish, Greek, Turkish, Arab, and Flamenco music, examples include “Hava Nagila[2] and “Misirlou”.[1] ”The main chords used with this scale are,” I, iv, and vi.[1]

The scale is extremely common in Middle Eastern music, particularly Arabic and Egyptian music. It is also known as Ahava Rabbah orFreygish when used in Hebrew prayers and Klezmer music (earning it the additional title of the Jewish scale), or as the Hijaz-Nahawand maqam when used in Turkish or Arabic music. It is often known as a Spanish Phrygian scale, Spanish gypsy scale(see: gypsy scale) or Phrygian major scale (see: phrygian mode and major scale) as it is also commonly used in Flamenco music.[3]The flattend second together with the augmented step between the second and third degrees of the scale create its distinctive mystical, exotic sound. For instance the E Phrygian dominant scale would be the notes E, F, G#, A, B, C and D.

The sequence of steps comprising the Phrygian dominant scale is

When related to the scale degrees of the major scale, it reads like so:

1 – b2 – 3 – 4 – 5 – b6 – b7 – 1

Beginning on C, the scale is as follows: C – D♭ – E – F – G – A♭ – B♭ – C