Ingmar Bergman

All women move me — old, young, tall, short, fat, thin, thick, heavy, light, beautiful, charming, living, dead. I also love cows, she-monkeys, sows, bitches, mares, hens, geese, turkey hens, lady hippos, and mice. But the categories of female that I prefer are wild beasts and dangerous reptiles. There are women I loathe. I’d like to murder one or two, or have myself killed by one of them. The world of women is my universe. It’s the world I have developed in, perhaps not for the best, but no man can really feel he knows himself if he manages to detach himself from it.

Ingmar Bergman, responding to a Swedish journalist who wrote that “Bergman is much wiser about women than men.”

bergman

Gunnar Björnstrand and Ingmar Bergman on the set of Winter Light

I think..

