Marlon Brando

Marlon Brando

Marlon Brando, 1950 (photo by Philippe Halsman)

“I have read the play [Orpheus Descending] three times since yesterday and am going to read it again. I think that it is the best play that you have done so far. I have been afraid for you sometimes, because success sings a deadly lullaby to most people. Success is a real and subtle whore, who would like nothing better than to catch you sleeping and bite your cock off.

You have been as brave as anybody I’ve known, and it is comforting to think about it. You probably don’t think of yourself as brave because nobody who really has courage does, but I know you are and I get food from that.”

-Brando, in a 1955 letter to Tennessee Williams (full letter here)(via)

I think..

