Faye Dunaway on the set of Bonnie & Clyde (1967, dir. Arthur Penn)

Title: BONNIE AND CLYDE ¥ Pers: DUNAWAY, FAYE ¥ Year: 1967 ¥ Dir: PENN, ARTHUR ¥ Ref: BON005EP ¥ Credit: [ WARNER BROS / THE KOBAL COLLECTION ]

“Never have I felt so close to a character as I felt to Bonnie. She was a yearning, edgy, ambitious southern girl who wanted to get out of wherever she was. I knew everything about wanting to get out, and getting out doesn’t come easy. But with Bonnie there was real tragic irony. She got out only to see that she was heading nowhere and the end was death.

There was a real kind of fierceness I’d seen in Bonnie that I recognized in myself as well. You look at photos of her and see it in her eyes, the set of her jaw. It takes fierceness in life to get ahead. I already knew that. Bonnie was Tennessee Williams, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof time. She knew the only way to get what she wanted was through her own sheer force of will. She was driven by her own desire. I know that territory – you do whatever it takes. She wanted to be something special, something out of the ordinary.”

(via)