Lauliku talveüksildus

    Lumi tuiskab, mina laulan,
    laulan kurba laulukest,
    lumi keerleb tuulehoodest,
    minu süda valudest.
    Lumi tuiskab, mina laulan,
    laulan kurba laulukest;
    lumi kogub aia äärde,
    valu minu südame.
    Lumi tuiskab, mina laulan,
    laulan kurba laulukest,
    laulan, kuni hauas kaetud
    olen jääst ja lumedest.

Juhan Liiv

Otto Dix

I’ve always been interested in painting and 1920’s Berlin.

Wilhelm Heinrich Otto Dix (2 December 1891 – 25 July 1969) was a German painter and printmaker. Noted for his ruthless and harshly realistic depictions of Weimar society and of the brutality of war, he, along with George Grosz, is widely considered one of the most important artists of the Neue Sachlichkeit.

Portrait of the Dancer Anita Berber

Portrait of the Dancer Anita Berber

Portrait of the Journalist Sylvia von Harden

Portrait of the Journalist Sylvia von Harden

The Salon I

The Salon I

Dr. Heinrich Stadelmann

Dr. Heinrich Stadelmann

Transport

Transport

Winter Landscape

Winter Landscape

Reclining Woman on Leopard Skin

Reclining Woman on Leopard Skin

the seven deadly sins

the seven deadly sins

“I’m not that obsessed with making representations of ugliness. Everything I’ve seen is beautiful.”

“I did not paint war pictures in order to prevent war. I would never have been so arrogant. I painted them to exorcise the experience of war. All art is about exorcism. I paint dreams and visions too; the dreams and visions of my time. Painting is the effort to produce order; order in yourself. There is much chaos in me, much chaos in our time”

“People were already beginning to forget, what horrible suffering the war had brought them. I did not want to cause fear and panic, but to let people know how dreadful war is and so to stimulate people’s powers of resistance.”


Otto Dix